top of page

A Successful Summer

To those who I haven’t introduced myself to yet – hello! My name is Harriet and I have been the Visitor Operations and Events Intern this summer, and what a ride it’s been! After such a challenging year, it’s been refreshing to be able to spend my time learning about the everyday operations and events of a heritage site such as the Bishop’s Palace, as well as work with a lovely and supportive team and contribute to some ongoing projects for the Palace. To name just a few, I’ve been able to get involved in (and sometimes lead) arts and crafts days, outdoor theatre and even silent discos!


Certainly, one of the highlights of my internship was the Garden Festival 2021. I was in charge of the children’s activities at the Festival and worked directly with the Events Manager to put the finishing touches to the event. I learnt that small details go a long way in making a successful event, hence some of the flower decorations you can see in the photo of me in the children’s gazebo! Not only did I enjoy engaging with visitors of the festival, but also had the chance to manage and work with some of the learning volunteers who kindly offered to help with the children’s activities at the Festival. This will prove to be an invaluable transferable skill in my future endeavours – whatever they may be.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Springboard to career in Heritage

As a 2nd year history student hoping to make it in the heritage industry, I could not think of a better introduction to it than what this internship provided. The Visitor Operations and Events Intern

bottom of page