top of page

Trusted and valued member of the volunteer team.

I joined the Bishop’s Palace in February of this year for postgraduate work experience. After completing my diploma in Museum Studies, I wanted to gain experience in a variety of roles within an authentic and thriving heritage setting to help me determine which specific aspects of the sector most appeal to me.


As a resident of Wells, and having visited the Palace on numerous occasions, I was overjoyed to learn of the opportunities the Palace provides. Although I’m still new, I’ve already found my time to be both productive and rewarding. As well as interacting with visitors, I have been involved in planning for the upcoming Jubilee Exhibition and conducted research with the aim of obtaining museum accreditation. Through actively participating in these different key areas, I feel I have become a trusted and valued member of the volunteer team.


Although entering a new working environment can be a daunting prospect, everyone I have met has made me feel welcomed and supported. It’s the people, as much as the historically rich setting, that make me feel so incredibly fortunate to be a part of this special place.


In the photograph I am pretending to enter a carriage from the block which stands outside the front of The Bishop's Palace!



38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Springboard to career in Heritage

As a 2nd year history student hoping to make it in the heritage industry, I could not think of a better introduction to it than what this internship provided. The Visitor Operations and Events Intern

bottom of page