top of page

Sculpture Trail

Hi, Harriet here again! I thought I would share another highlight of my internship.

The project was to design the information booklet for the new sculpture trail which takes place around the Palace Gardens. The trail is mainly aimed at school visits to the Gardens with the booklet helping to guide them around the trail and provide some information about each sculpture. Having never designed such a booklet before, this was a new activity for me and being a naturally creative person, I really enjoyed learning about the software used to design the booklet. I tried to keep the design simple and in mind for young adults whilst being in line with the Palace colours and marketing. I hope the finished product will be useful for all those looking to learn more about the fabulous sculptures that we have around the Gardens!


Overall, the Bishop’s Palace has given me a thorough insight into the heritage sector and all the weird and wonderful things that go into keeping the site open and operating (including all the animals that come with it). I have been struck by the Palace’s involvement in the local community and enjoyed learning about the lives of those who spend a lot of time there. It’s clear that the Bishop’s Palace plays a pivotal role in the culture and community of Wells and I will certainly be returning be that as a visitor or even volunteer! I will now be starting an MA in Heritage Management at Bath Spa University to put all that I have learnt into action. With my experience at the Bishop’s Palace, I believe I’m in a great position to keep on learning.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Springboard to career in Heritage

As a 2nd year history student hoping to make it in the heritage industry, I could not think of a better introduction to it than what this internship provided. The Visitor Operations and Events Intern

bottom of page