top of page

Moving on....

I joined the Bishop’s Palace as a work experience volunteer in early February. After graduating late

last year, I was eager to gain first-hand experience within an authentic and thriving cultural setting,

to help me identify which aspects of the sector most appeal to me and to increase my

employment opportunities.


Part of what attracted me to working at the Palace, was the chance to work within a variety of

different and diverse roles including visitor welcome, exhibition planning, volunteer development

and archival research. Such a rich range of tasks means no day has ever felt the same. Moreover,

responding to different priorities and responsibilities has provided me with invaluable knowledge

and skills for my own personal development moving forward.


As I am local to Wells, and have visited the Palace on numerous occasions, I was already

aware of its public and personal significance within the local and wider community. My time

here has confirmed this to me even more. I feel immense pleasure in knowing that I have been a

member of the team that instils visitors with the same excitement and awe I have always

felt myself. A team who made me feel welcomed and supported from the very moment I started.


I am thrilled to say that I have been offered, and accepted, a permanent position at the Heath Robinson Museum in London. A position I owe to my time at the Palace. Although I will miss the people who make this place so special, I am incredibly grateful too and could not have imagined the great sense of accomplishment and fulfilment the Palace has given me. I will always remember my time here fondly and will be visiting whenever I’m back in Wells


47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Springboard to career in Heritage

As a 2nd year history student hoping to make it in the heritage industry, I could not think of a better introduction to it than what this internship provided. The Visitor Operations and Events Intern

bottom of page