top of page

Thank You and Goodbye

I’m Molly and I’m currently at the end of a 6-week internship at the Bishop’s Palace. After graduating from University of Bristol completing a Masters in History, I was looking for hands on experience in the Arts and Heritage sector. Luckily for me, the University were advertising a paid summer internship with the Bishop’s Palace and I couldn’t miss the opportunity to work at such a beautiful and historic site.

Working with the Visitor Operations Team (VOT), I’ve been at the centre of the day to day operation of the site, giving me a great insight into how heritage sites run and always keeping me on my toes! My duties can cover everything from working in the shop to meeting and greeting visitors on the drawbridge to working with the volunteers on the lodge. The variety of the role has been a welcome surprise, where I’ve been checking on the swan nests for walkabout eggs or moving ladders around the site before a new exhibition launched. My personal favourite has been swan-feeding, especially once the cygnet ‘Lucky’ arrived on the scene. I never imagined I would build a connection with the local swans but there I am watching “swan cam” on a Saturday night!

Whilst working here I have also worked with Jonathan – the Development Project Manager – conducting surveys in the free area to gain a better understanding of our visitors, like how long they’re spending here, if they’re planning to head to the Gardens or just the café, or where else they are visiting in Wells. I’ve learnt that a smile can go a long way when asking people to complete surveys! After I hit my quota, I then produced an analysis report along with an overview of any trends I had noticed throughout the project.

I’ve had such a wonderful time working with the Visitor Operations Team and I have found everyone extremely welcoming and friendly. Being able to work with both managers and volunteers has given me a great all-around impression of the operational side of heritage sites and has definitely inspired me to look for more opportunities in this sector in the future!



60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Springboard to career in Heritage

As a 2nd year history student hoping to make it in the heritage industry, I could not think of a better introduction to it than what this internship provided. The Visitor Operations and Events Intern

bottom of page