top of page

Signing off!

Five months later, my internship at the Bishop’s Palace has come to an end. I am starting an MA in Heritage Management at Bath Spa University, which is a very fitting segue from an internship at a heritage site! Prior to beginning the course, students have been asked to research the heritage sector in the current climate - the challenges, risks, and opportunities that will arise during such a unique and changing time. Specifically, it seems that one of our first projects will be to consider different re-opening strategies and risk assessments undertaken by various heritage sites and companies, varying from small local museums, to the National Trust and English Heritage. I am sure that  witnessing some of these issues first-hand at the Bishop’s Palace, will prove an invaluable resource during my MA.


I have also spent the last four months involved in the Wells Coronavirus Network, and it will be fascinating to see how the WCN morphs into something of permanent value to Wells. I am expecting that the insights I have gained working with volunteers, will resonate with some aspects of my new degree course. I’ll come back at some point and let you know!


- Madeleine Boylan George

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Springboard to career in Heritage

As a 2nd year history student hoping to make it in the heritage industry, I could not think of a better introduction to it than what this internship provided. The Visitor Operations and Events Intern

bottom of page