top of page

April's New Role: Archiving

Updated: May 9, 2019


When I came back after the Christmas break I heard about a very interesting project that I could commit to: Archiving. I've always enjoyed reading historic articles, so I saw this as a fun and practical way of educating myself on local history. My approach is very methodical. I pick a box from the archive, read each folder one by one and then detail and list accurate information about the content for the digital catalogue. Each box is from a different decade and has a particular theme, e.g the coronation of our Queen. Sometimes I feel real pieces of history that I can hardly believe I am handling eg. a fascinating seal from the early twentieth century in a beautiful box.


April Caplin - May 2019


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Springboard to career in Heritage

As a 2nd year history student hoping to make it in the heritage industry, I could not think of a better introduction to it than what this internship provided. The Visitor Operations and Events Intern

bottom of page