top of page

Christmas at the Palace

I have now been an intern here at the Palace for two months, and the time has just flown by! The work has been varied and I have now experienced many different roles, brilliantly supported by the Volunteer Co-ordinator; perfect for changing my career. This is a very special time of year and I got involved with helping research, organise and decorate the Palace for Christmas. The requirement was that the decorations complemented the beautiful garden foliage and were in keeping with the theme of the rooms.

It was quite a buzz to see a Tudor Christmas pie on the table in the entrance hall; the medieval kissing bough hanging from the undercroft ceiling, and a traditionally decorated Yule Log in front of the fireplace. I also suggested some of the background music to give an ambience and welcoming Christmas feel inside. There were children’s games and activities to research and set-up; I particularly enjoyed learning about, and bringing to life, long forgotten traditional games such as Queek and Hunt the Slipper. We also had a book for families to write down and share their Christmas traditions.

I’m also thrilled to say that I have now passed my tour guide training and looking forward to presenting my first official tour in the new year. I’m betting there are also many more new experiences to come!

Jeremy


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Springboard to career in Heritage

As a 2nd year history student hoping to make it in the heritage industry, I could not think of a better introduction to it than what this internship provided. The Visitor Operations and Events Intern

bottom of page